Behind the Mini-Peety Drawing: #592

When I began posting my “Mini-Peety Drawing a Day,” they served two purposes: 1) an everyday outlet that allowed me to create my own art and 2) drive daily traffic to the Peety Draws’ Facebook. Occasionally, I’ll hear feedback from fans, friends and family on how my daily drawing fit their mood exactly for that day. I love that these little scribbles have taken on a life of their own and encapsulate a feeling echoed by many.

I thought it’d be cool to give a little insight on some of my daily drawings and how I decided to post a certain sentence/phrase for that day. First up, #592: “Be Responsible for Your Mistakes and Your Successes.”

I was reading an article online (I think it was Huffington Post), that discussed how women take responsibility for mistakes they make at work and in their personal lives without hesitation and try to correct them quickly and efficiently. However, when it came to their successes, they were not as forthcoming and accepting of their own achievements. Instead, they downplayed it to a simple, “oh, thanks” and shrug of the shoulders. I realized I did this, too. But why? Sure, you want to be humble instead of expecting applause for every awesome thing you do in life, but there shouldn’t be a double-standard for taking responsibility for your success. You worked hard for it – so celebrate accordingly.

I made this drawing for anyone else who needed a reminder to be just as responsible for their successes as they are for their mistakes. You’re effn awesome so embrace it. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Behind the Mini-Peety Drawing: #592

  1. I think this is a very good point. I do it all the time! I think your doing a drawing each day is a really good idea. It’s really good for the mind. And I think it probably helps the memory. I have a terrible memory. Anyway it was nice to meet you. I have a blog where I put my drawings, so you might be interested in having a look. I try to blog everyday.

    • I couldn’t agree – totally good for the mind. It’s nice to own a part of the day for no one else but yourself. 🙂 Glad you visited and I’ll def check out your blog!

Leave a Reply

