It’s Bollywood Time

One of my favorite ways to relax is watching Bollywood movies. I grew up watching these 3+ hour epic movies that tried their best to disguise the tired formula of a) boy meets girl b) girl likes boy c) they realize they can’t be together because one comes from a rich family while the other is poor OR the girl is already engaged to be married. When I was younger, I used to think these formulaic Bollywood movies were ridiculous. Now that I’m an adult, I’ve done a complete 180. What once was seen as a predictable plot is now welcomed with open arms as nostalgic familiarity. So, what’s my favorite Bollywood movie? It’s a little movie called, ‘Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge’ (translating to The Brave Hearted Will Take the Bride).

I’m OBSESSED with this movie. It gives me everything I want out of a Bollywood movie: a fairytale love story (I am a Disney child, after all), catchy and sweet songs, my favorite Bollywood actor and actress, and EPICNESS. So epic, in fact, that this movie has been in theaters for over a decade. That’s right. Read that again: OVER A DECADE. It was released in theaters in October of 1995 and became the biggest Bollywood movie of the year and eventually, of all time. The film has broken a number of records including 700 weeks of continuous play in a Mumbai theater with October 2009 marking the end of non-stop screening for 15 years. I’ve read that it’s still playing in smaller theaters in India.

The synopsis of the movie is simple: the young woman in the film will be going thru with a marriage arranged by her father. Before she does, she visits Europe on vacation with a few girlfriends where she falls in love with a young man. They both realize they love each other and the young man goes to great lengths to win her family over and ultimately, her hand in marriage. Cheesy? Maybe. But it’s all part of the Bollywood charm.

This simple, yet, beautiful movie continues to bring in audiences that cheer, clap and sing-a-long with the songs no matter how many times they’ve seen it. And I’m happy to say I’m one of them. Yes, the actors break out into song throughout the film. And yes, the songs take place in locations having nothing to do with the movie. But I bet you’ll also think every minute of this film is entertaining as hell.

So get your Bollywood on! ‘Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge’ is available on Netflix to stream instantly or purchase on Amazon. In the meantime, check out one of my favorite songs from the film here to wet your appetite:

2 thoughts on “It’s Bollywood Time

    • Awesome! You know, it is a bit campy – but in a good way. The older ones are definitely more rooted in the fairytale genre with the newer Bollywood movies trying to be more westernized. For me, the older Bollywood movies have an innocence that I absolutely adore and use as an escape. After you watch this movie, you feel like you’ve been on a journey. I hope you love it. Let me know when you do and if you liked it!

Leave a Reply

