Behind the Mini-Peety Drawing: #755

This was yesterday’s Mini-Peety Drawing. The words came directly from an online article interview from Karen Zuckerman, Creative Director and President of the integrated creative agency, HZDG. I’ve had the wonderful pleasure of meeting a couple ladies from their Rockville, Maryland office so I was really interested in reading the article.

Their office is pretty amazing and everything a creative studio should look like, complete with Pantone folding chairs. ::: swoon ::: The inside look at the studio was coupled with questions for Karen. As I went thru the slideshow, this question made me perk up: Lately, there’s been so much conversation around the fact that relatively few women hold top positions in creative companies. What has been the biggest challenge for you? I loved the humble confidence in Karen’s response:

 I believe when you treat men as your equal, they will do the same. I’m a member of an organization called YPO (Young Presidents’ Organization), which is 90% men. I learn a lot from the guys, but I think they learn from me, as well. My advice: Be confident and you’ll thrive.”

It may not seem like much, but the simple combination of these specific words as advice resonated with me yesterday. It was exactly what I needed to hear and I immediately felt the need to share. There are days we all need to be reminded that it can be as simple as just being confident. Confidence in yourself allows others to be confident in YOU.

Be effn confident today and don’t let anyone make you feel otherwise, you rockstar, you.

Leave a Reply

