Monday Inspiration – late edition | Jun 11, 2014

I’ve been inspired by so many things – too many things, in fact, that it’s making it difficult to focus on just one thing. I think that’s part of my why my “Monday Inspirations” have been struggling to get posted. Sometimes too much inspiration without focus makes it difficult to meet my goals. I’ve still got the HOW Design Live conference sessions in my head, excerpts from books I’ve been reading, and good TV all motivating me in different ways. Within the last week, I’ve starting putting numbers together for myself on what it would take to repopulate my Etsy shop and enter Crafty Bastards – FINALLY! I’m really hoping it’ll come together and I’ll get my stuff back out in the public. I’ve really been dragging my ass with this and it’s time that changed!

As I’m putting the finishing touches on this post, I’m watching Louie. Does anyone else watch this show? It is one of my favorite shows to watch right now. It’s so well-done, funny, honest and thought-provoking all at the same time. I highly advise anyone with a sense of humor to get on this show with the quickness. As a comedian, Louis C.K. is reminding me how you can create something so well-done when you put in the time and effort. Time to refocus!

Inspiration time:

NinjaNinja_01A_TadCarpenter2

Love love love this illustrated book by Tad Carpenter, “Ninja, Ninja Never Stop.” And while you’re at it, check out his interview on Pencil vs Pixel.

Don’t break the chain! Inspiring read with advice from Jerry Seinfeld. I am trying to live my life by this philosophy.

Get your fill of toys thru Nerd Block.

Anyone watching Halt and Catch Fire? I’m digging the opening sequence.

For the love of data.

Creativity exercises to conquer blocks and burnout.

Listen to Samuel L. Jackson read your “Go the F— to Sleep” on Audible.com.

Yay! Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee is back next week!

My friend and co-worker, Marzia Motta, has a book she wrote and illustrated available for purchase on Amazon! I love being inspired by people that surround me everyday. 🙂

Check out this animation, “Helium Harvey.”

Interesting read on The Science of Comic Sans. Don’t worry – other fonts are also discussed.

On repeat: Marvin Gaye, “I Want You.”

Leave a Reply

