Monday Inspiration | July 14, 2014

This past weekend was very pleasant. It started with a happy hour hosted by Cherry Blossom Creative in Washington, DC on Friday. I spent the evening with creative women discussing personal projects, venting about clients, and dishing on our favorite boxed subscriptions and grocery shopping methods. Audy graciously watched Vee after a long week so I could sip some bubbly with these “badass bitties.”

The rest of the weekend was filled with a lot of awesome movies. My husband and I finally got around to watching The Grand Budapest Hotel. Holy crap is that movie awesome or what?! Each scene is a magnificent composition. Wes Anderson’s use of color is beyond anything I’ve seen in his other films. If you haven’t seen it yet, do yourself a favor and watch it as soon as possible. You will be so happy that you did. I also watched Snowpiercer. Chris Evans really rocked the shit in this movie. Audy highly recommended that one and I have to say, it was pretty awesome. I also watched They Came Together, starring Paul Rudd and Amy Poehler for CinemaSamurai.net (review posted below) and Gravity! Although we own Gravity, I was pleasantly surprised it was HBO. I’m always blown away by that film.

Phew! Inspiration time:

Screen Shot 2014-07-13 at 10.25.24 PM

I haven’t downloaded Monument Valley mainly because I’m scared of how much of a time suck it will be but it looks so effn beauuuutiful!

My first contribution to CinemaSamurai.net is a review on They Came Together. Yay!

Holy crap – TypeWonder is amazing. It allows you to test fonts on any website instantly!

Do you know how to use a semicolon?

Marge Simpson inspired make-up for one-day sale at Comic-con from MAC.

The visuals created by Flora Drift are pretty awesome and calming. The creator, Luke Twyman describes it as: “An interactive web experiment which procedurally generates music & visuals on the fly, and uses realtime synthesis.” It’s very cool.

I had the pleasure of hearing Dana Tanamachi-Williams speak at the HOW Design Live conference in Boston this past May. Check out a day in her life via Design Sponge.

Win membership for life on Skillshare!

For all those MST3K lovers, this is a great read.

The Peety Draws etsy shop has been bare for quite a while but I’m slowing adding items for your purchasing pleasure. 🙂

On repeat: Zombies – The Way I Feel Inside.

 

Leave a Reply

