Monday Inspiration | Dec 1, 2014

Hello December. For me, Thanksgiving is the time to reflect on the past year and give thanks whereas Christmas ushers in the end of the current year and I’m reminded to think about my resolutions for the following year. I took a look at my resolution list for 2014 and I’m a little bummed I didn’t get as many things crossed off my list but – 2015 is another year and with Vee a little older, it’s getting a smidgen easier when it comes to getting things done.

I’ve got quite a few things keep me busy over the upcoming weeks – Christmas and secret santa gifts, gathering recipes for my new crockpot that was graciously donated to me by my friend and co-worker, and making DIY boxes out of these greeting cards (that were originally thank you notes for Vee’s birthday which turned out to be a total fail) that I’m hoping to fill with some delicious baked good. We did usher in a bit of festivity this weekend by putting up and decorating our Christmas tree. Vee was super excited about all the lights, ornaments (which I bought from Ikea and are plastic and AWESOME! Check ’em out.) and beads but didn’t get in the way of decorating, giving my husband and I the greatest gift of uninterrupted time. Those of you who have it don’t even know how good you have it. Let me live vicariously thru you and dream of the time I was able to eat a complete meal while it was still warm. 🙂

Tomorrow is also the day I find out who my Goody Goody Gift Swap recipient is! I know I’ve mentioned it a few times already – clearly I am way too excited about this. Watch out for posts on Instagram on gift updates. Until then –

Inspiration time:

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 10.48.40 PM4 million songs have never been played on Spotify. Forgotify is here to fix that.

Speaking of music, this is timely – I just finished watching the Seattle episode of Sonic Highways and saw the news of a Kurt Cobain documentary coming out on HBO with full support of his family.

I love this DIY wreath idea from Design Sponge.

Really cool write up on Anthony Bourdain. If only we all could be as confident and true to ourselves as this guy.

Yeeessss. Paul Rudd’s 80s hair is as magnificent as you could imagine. Also, he seriously hasn’t aged.

Get asymmetrical, people!

Before the holiday season is over, I will own lights from Bright Lab. They will be mine. Oh yes, they will be mine.

Could be a great gift idea – Where Children Sleep shares photographs of children’s bedrooms from all over the world.

Giant coloring pages?! GENIUS!

Download Emojiary right now. It keeps track of your moods thru emojis, allowing you to pick-up on any patterns or change in your moods over time. But all done in a very casual and non-technical way. I’ve had it for two days and love it already.

What’s your hipster business name?

I watched Saturday Night on Hulu this past weekend, directed by James Franco. What started as a film project while a student at NYU turned into a full-fledged behind the scenes look at how an SNL episode is made. It’s more than I knew before and a pretty cool watch.

Answer questions for the next edition of Flaunt!

If anyone lives in any of these locations, send your food recommendations for Alton Brown (I’ve raved about his awesome turkey recipe my family uses every Thanksgiving to successful results each time) on Facebook or Twitter, using the appropriate hashtag.

Leave a Reply

