Monday Inspiration | Dec 15, 2014

The Christmas spirit hasn’t totally made it’s way to me completely. The tree is up. The tinsel is glistening. The house is strung with lights. It still somehow doesn’t feel like Christmas (this pretty much sums me up). Our little family has seen a lot of changes this year and I think we’re still in a haze of sleep deprivation and exhaustion. Getting out to do anything festive requires a lot of extra energy and patience, too, because the traffic is always worse than usual around here. On my husband’s wonderful spur of the moment suggestion, though, we went out for a drive Saturday evening to seek out houses decked out in their most festive light show. We both grew up doing this with our own families, so to do this with Vee was very nostalgic and sweet. We listened to Christmas music on the way and didn’t hear Last Christmas at all – BLASPHEMY! She fell asleep for a bit in the car giving my husband and I some time to actually talk uninterrupted and it turned out to be exactly what we needed. We found a few select houses that impressed us but I was more taken back with an unassuming teeny adorable library sitting right in the middle of a neighborhood that we want to visit when open. We also came across this scary ass house on top of a mini hill in the normal neighborhood that looked straight out of any horror movie you’ve seen – definitely hair-standing-up-on-your-neck kind of scary. We got the hell outta there fast.

Speaking of Vee, she’s always so enamored with the lettered magnets on our fridge. I’m not sure why I didn’t think to put them on the lower half of the fridge so she could play with them until now – but man am I glad I did. I found her singing and placing the magnets on the fridge ever so decisively and it ended up like this:

10843885_369267059864525_274481816_nI see it as her harnessing the design side of her brain and embracing white space. <3. We also watched Guardians of the Galaxy a bajillion times. I can’t get enough of that movie or soundtrack. What are you guys doing to get into the Christmas spirit? Gifts wrapped and ready to go? I’m going to try and get things organized this weekend, along with a trip for Vee to visit Santa Claus, so wish me luck!

Inspiration time:

Anyone else sad Sonic Highways is over? For those who watched, and more importantly, for those that didn’t, read my article about it on cinemasamurai.net.

Thank you, Aziz Ansari. Now I’m not the only one whose Christmas playlist looks like this.

Have you seen the trailer for Pixar’s new movie, Inside Out? I really want to see this!

Made in the Middle celebrates design people and good in Kansas City. Thanks to Tad Carpenter for making this happen.

Did you guys check out my first Peety animated gif?!

I want this book! It would make a great gift this Christmas.

A fucking well-designed life. This was a good read.

Okay. I’m obsessed with Buy Me Brunch. There are quite a few t-shirts from here that I would rock.

Thank goodness for doodling – making this weather forecast the most interesting one, ever.

This custom letter banner could come in handy.

Robot food christmas packaging. I’m drooling at how pretty.

2 thoughts on “Monday Inspiration | Dec 15, 2014

Leave a Reply

