Wednesday Inspiration | Feb 25, 2015

The Oscars have come and gone and although my pick for Best Picture wasn’t chosen, I still love watching the show and seeing all the celebrities in their glitz and glamour. My Best Picture winner would’ve been Whiplash, which is out on DVD today (and I am already watching as I type this). The editing, music, acting, intensity and story was so incredibly well done. No words can truly capture how excellent this movie is. It is an absolute must watch so do your eyes and ears a favor and watch this film!

Last week, I took a couple of days off work to just relaaaax – a concept completely elusive to my mind and body, as much as I try to practice it. But this time… this time, I really treated myself and feel so much more refreshed as a result. My mini-vacay started with coffee, crackers and cheese at a bookstore so I could finish Lena Dunham’s “Not That Into You.” I left with a purchase of a new sketchbook (whose pages smell divine and are aching to be drawn on) and Steve Martin’s “Object of Beauty,” a read I’ve been wanting to pick up for forever. Still full from my breakfast, I met my husband for his lunch break and we ended up just taking a drive, huddled in the warmth of the car heater against the brutal cold wind. It was nice to talk, share our feelings, laugh, and be carefree, instead of the usual grumbles about the insane traffic, talking about Vee, or discussing how we fix this or that. It was sweet and perfect. ❤

11015646_901944203191514_1600438070_n 11017590_815941015145521_1617344482_n

I wrapped up the afternoon with a trip to Target (I mean, is a mini-vacay ever complete without entering a Target?), Paper Source and the movies! I loved rummaging the shelves of Paper Source without any pressure to leave or buy something. I ended up buying cardboard letters that spelled out V-E-E and hung them in her room after peety-izing them. They look awesome and she’s obsessed with them, too. I bought a few sets of notecards to bulk up my home card collection since it was running low. I always tell myself I’ll make cards or just give a Peety card but you know – I’m a sucker for really beautiful notecards! I can’t help it so it felt good to give myself a little treat. And then I headed to the movies to see Still Alice. Guys, this movie was incredibly moving and yes, Julianne Moore’s performance made me wipe tears away over and over. Although I still wish Rosamund Pike won for Best Actress at the Oscars, Julianne Moore was pretty incredible (stay tuned for my review coming soon to cinemasamura.net).

The rest of the weekend was spent with my husband and I watching movies, tv, sleeping A LOT. Did I mention Vee stayed at my parents’ house this past weekend? 🙂 All I have to say is, an uninterrupted warm meal is definitely NOT overrated.

Inspiration time:

Screen Shot 2015-02-25 at 12.51.31 AM

I don’t know about you but I love love LOVED the animation and graphics as the intro to each category and nominee. Thanks to my friend’s googling skills, I know that the man behind the art is Henry Hobson. And he is awesome (thanks for the link, Marzia!).

I am so intrigued by this 10-minute timer rule (thanks, Jorge!).

I want these bookends!

Holy crap. I most definitely have a severe case of misophonia.

I bought these lovely birthstone notecards at my trip to Paper Source. I love how unique they would feel to each recipient.

Free infographic goods – sweet!

HOUSE OF CARDS THIS WEEKEND OMGICANTWAITBINGEWATCHHEREICOME!!!!!

Okay, I’d like to think I’m pretty good at Wheel of Fortune but how. the. hell?!

Speaking of word games, I have been obsessed with this app.

And speaking of apps, I really love finding out how others stay organized and on top of their shit. Check out how Bri from Design Love Fest stays with it.

Leave a Reply

