Tuesday Inspiration | Mar 10, 2015

The last two weeks included a visit to Hot Spot, a Bush concert with my sister (kickin’ it back to my ’90s music love), taking Vee to her first toy store, binge-watching House of Cards and Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt on Netflix, making mini-pizzas for nom nom time and much coffee to keep up since Daylight Saving Time is kicking my butt this time around. How are you guys holding up?

And what did you think of House of Cards? My husband and I finished it the weekend it came out. I know many people who are still plowing through the season so I won’t give anything away. I will only say that I preferred the first two seasons to this one. Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt is the new one from Tina Fey. It’s only 13 episodes, about a half hour each, so that one was easy for us to consume on a Saturday night. It was pretty funny and Ellie Kemper’s delivery is really good. The show is very much in the same vein of 30 Rock so if you were fans of that show, chances are you may like this one.

Vee’s birthday is six months away (HOLY SHIT, WHAT?!) and she will be turning 2-years-old. To say she’s obsessed with Mickey Mouse is an understatement. If she’s still into him and the rest of the Mickey gang by the time her birthday rolls around, my husband and I are playing around with the idea of a Mickey themed party. I made “Find Vee” favors last year that included facts about foods she liked, what words she was trying to say, her favorite stuffed animal, etc. But this time around, I’m thinking of doing something a little more in-depth, like a Mickey-themed annual report favor based on her exponential growth and progress this past year. It would be a fun design project for me, full of infographic-style illustrations that may or may not include facts about how many times a day she likes to jump on to and off of furniture (all day, erryday) and which of her books get the most love (Pantone Colors and Corduroy right now). Still just thoughts… let’s see what I can do with that evasive little thing called time. 🙂

Let’s get to it. Inspiration time:

Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 4.32.53 PM

 

Each Disney movie has been illustrated by Rafael Mayani. I want to own each and every one in print form, even the ones I haven’t seen. Check out his site for more amazing goods here.

Wes Anderson’s use of red and yellow. Equally as impressive is Wes Anderson: Centered.

Check out my review of Still Alice starring Julianne Moore who won an Oscar for her performance in this film.

I’ve made a couple batches of these mini-pizzas and they are so damn good!

I just purchased this font. It’s so preeeeetty.

I started using Wunderlist. It’s taking some time for me to get used to it but so far, I’m diggin’ it.

My two loves combined.

Turning 30 described in charts and graphs. Extremely accurate and very funny.

Just in case you needed to be reminded how awesome Drive is, check out the opening credits. And if it’s your first time watching them, shame on you. Ugly baby judges you.

Oh, hello animated gifs straight from my phone’s keyboard!

This video with Jessica Hische and Laura Victore talk about being pregnant, their work, and future totally resonated with me now that I have a child.

I hope to have the strength this mother did for her daughter if I’m ever called upon like that with mine.

On repeat: Whiplash’s Caravan. I’LL CUE YOU IN!!! My fellow Whiplash fans will know what I’m talking about. \m/ \m/

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Inspiration | Mar 10, 2015

    • Isn’t it gorgeous?! I have to find a reason to use it.

      And yes, pretty much everyone I know in this age bracket couldn’t agree more with those charts. That 9pm bedtime is so elusive, though!

Leave a Reply

