Sketchbook project: streamline

It’s funny. When I have all the time in the world, my procrastination level is at an all time high. When I’m busy as hell and can’t find a moment to breathe, that’s when I’m my most productive. I’m sure that’s the same for you.

When Vee was born, my life status changed into a constant state of busy. This also triggered me to the make the most of every waking or spare moment by working on personal projects, taking on freelance work, reading books, spending time with my husband… the list goes on and on. It’s not like I didn’t want to do these things before Vee (or “pre-Vee” as my husband and I call it), but because the option is now taken away from us, it feels much more important that I try to do these things. Many empty coffee cups later, I realized this shit was not going to work out and I had to make sacrifices in the name of sanity. In other words: streamline.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 9.04.27 AMMy prioritizing game is at a whole other level. To-do lists have become my BFF. As for my expectations of productivity? They are set to realistic. I’m not doing nearly as much as my brain wants me to but I keep reminding myself there is a time and place for everything. I’ll pick up freelance work another time, when I can truly dedicate the appropriate time. We’ll paint the psuedo-office/studio space when it doesn’t feel like a chore. I won’t go out on a school night so I can keep up the bedtime routine for my daughter and spend some much needed quality time with my husband. And probably the most drastic, I’ll even cut out lending a helping hand every now and again because right now, I barely have enough to help myself! My family comes first and in the end, that’s the priority… that, and staying sane.

Leave a Reply

