Monday Inspiration | Jun 8, 2015

Waaaaaaaah! My staycation has come to an end. I’m not looking forward to heading back into the routine that the 9-5 brings but I do thrive in an environment of predictability so maybe it’s a good thing. Quite a few items were crossed off my to-do list but I still found time to relax. I got about 100 pages in on Amy Poehler’s Yes, Please, and it makes me so effn happy. Why the hell don’t I make time to read more often?! When is it acceptable to blame your child for not being able to do the things you want. Oh, RIGHT NOW?! Then yes, I blame you VEE!

I finally made my way to IKEA and bought two sets of kitchen towels, these and these, and I’m so glad I did. They add a little fun to our pretty standard kitchen. I also bought some bathroom storage stuffs but my favorite purchased item was FINALLY this rug. Ever since I rolled it out onto our basement floor, my husband, Vee, and I have made camp and spent the weekend sprawled out over every inch. It’s already been christened with drops of sippy cup water, spilled rice, and juice of a fresh tomato. I’ll let you guess who was responsible for all of that mess. I BLAME YOU, VEE!

I also hung out with some fam and friends. I spent some time with my brother for lunch near his job. We talked over wings and mashed potatoes courtesy of Nando’s. I haven’t been there in quite a while and it hit the spoooot. Vee and I also hung out with my sister and once she drifted off to napland, we decided to punish our childhood by watching a movie we used to be obsessed with, Teen Witch on Netflix. I’ve been racking my brain trying to think of a clever way of describing how hilariously awful this movie is but this scene from the movie pretty much sums it up. I think it might actually be so awful it’s good. My husband and I had dinner with our friend Lhynette, a friend from my college days at University of Maryland. She’s one of the few people who joins in on my inappropriate jokes, is witty as hell, and can laugh the entire time we hang out. It’s a guaranteed good, chill, and fun time.

I ended the weekend at home with my husband and got a movie in with him. We watched L’Eclisse. I’m so lucky to have someone like Audy with me when we watch movies of this caliber because he is able to pick apart a scene, explain the nuances, and determine meaning where I am unable. It was definitely a good watch. In between movies and Vee’s coloring time, we packaged up a lot of crap from our basement and are FINALLY getting it hauled out of the house. It feels good to declutter, reassess, and then clean out some more. We are in our first phase of the cleaning out process and efffff it feels good.

Inspiration time:

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 12.29.02 AM

Where has this book been all my life?

For those searching for a way to start and maintain that streak.

Pretty pretty wrapping paper that I found on A Cup of Jo‘s site.

Want these paperclips!

This DIY table runner is awesome but holy crap, my hands are cramping up just looking at it.

The four types of productivity styles. Pretty sure I am more of a Prioritizer. Definitely going to check out the recommended tools, although I’m using a few of them already. 😉

Holy shit this pecan salty caramel tart looks amazing!

Orange is the New Black is back June 12! YAY!

And another A Cup of Jo share: Gemma Burgess’ beauty uniform. I am drooling over her skin. That’s it – more water for me and any tips from you guys for adult acne prone skin, I’m all ears!

Sheryl Sandberg is just a different breed of woman. Her post about her late husband and what she’s learned from it can be read on Facebook and I highly recommend reading it.

On repeat in my brain: You’re Just My Type by Saint Motel. I CAN’T GET THIS STUPID SONG OUT OF MY HEAD. IT JUST KEEPS GOING AND GOING AND GOING. MAKE IT STOP.

 

Leave a Reply

