Wednesday Inspiration | Oct 7, 2015

Have you potty trained a toddler before? No? Well, let me tell you – it’s quite exhilarating, frustrating, hilarious, but most importantly, it is EXHAUSTING. So far, it seems that Vee is taking to it like a pro so here’s hoping it stays that way. I’m also incredibly aware right now that being a parent makes GET SHIT DONE because you have no time, literally. As a result, I’m constantly filling rare spare moments with projects, cleaning, errands, etc. and am probably getting more shit done as a parent than I ever was sans child. Ah, the complexity that is life.

I’m not sure if it was the end of the four day intensity or exhaustion that catapulted me into my current self-discovery phase (more exhaustion, of course) and I’ve been pouring through inspirational design sites, books, and podcasts. Thanks to my husband (an avid podcast listener and creating his own) podcasts have become a comfort to listen to during the monotony of the work day or my long commute. I went thru the archives of Debbie Millman’s Design Matters podcast and am plowing thru them this week. Most recently, I listened to the one with Jessica Hische (you can learn more about Hische here). Millman shared one of Hische’s quotes: “The work you do while you procrastinate is probably the work you should be doing for the rest of your life.” Just think about that for a second – the WORK you do while you procrastinate. My brain exploded and it gave me reason to keep drawing, sharing my sketchbook, and pouring myself into work that makes me happy. My professional self-discovery is off to a positive start. There are some other great topics they touch on during the podcast so I strongly suggest to listen.

Inspiration time:

nameless-paint-tubes-primary-colors-ima-moteki-5 2

These Japanese nameless paints are AWESOME!

Vee has been obsessing over The Odd One Out ever since we bought the book at Crafty Bastards. I can’t say I’m tired with reading it over and over again because the illustrations are so fun and beautiful.

I’m trying to ramp up the number of indoor activities for Vee since winter is right around the corner. I’m starting with this.

This mashup video is awesome and made me laugh. Cool way to introduce yourself.

Want want want these pigment markers!

More wants.

Check out this Ted Talks when Chip Kidd was there. Love his work.

Yes. Now how can I make this happen?

I’ve been on a soup binge for the last two weeks. I’ve made this and this and both were delicious. The best part? Making it in my slow cooker!

I’ve been spending way too much time playing Two Dots. And it’s freeeeee!

Nothing is forever. I love the Non-Career Advice series by Sho & Tell.

Leave a Reply

