Wednesday Inspiration | Dec 16, 2015

blogpic

Ever since Vee has been a part of our lives, each holiday is a comparison to the one before it. Last Christmas, she tore open gifts, relishing in the excitement of this action rather than the gift she’d discovered. This year, I’m having to hide gifts from her because she is on a mission to ruin surprises. Her understanding of this time of year is basically a heightened excitement. She knows all the twinkling lights means “It’s Christmastime, mama!” or that wrapped gifts belong under the tree, or the bells ringing through the radio mean it’s a Christmas song. She’s constantly reminding me to take time in her childlike wonder because it’s so pure, without baggage, and sweet. Which makes it so painful at the same time because I know the phase of the “Leave-me-alone-mom” and “I-hate-you” is going to sneak up on me and I’m going to hate life. So I’m trying to soak in all the good that we’re experiencing together because stocking up on this feeling is the only way I will be able to make it through the bad.

It made me realize we do a lot of that in our everyday lives, right? Relationships start off sweet, polite, romantic and inevitably hit that wall, that wall you have to get over in order to make it and the only way you can is to dig into that well of happy fuel memories to get you going. New jobs start off promising and exciting where you vow to give it your all but here comes that slump or hurdle, and getting thru it requires you to know this moment won’t last forever. So, there you go again, slurping up the shiny happy fuel from years past because that’s how you get through the tough times. All my good moments feel like they have more meaning. Not only do I appreciate being in them right at that moment but I also know it will serve another purpose at some point in my life.

On another note, I am spending Friday at the movies with my BFF to see Sisters and then spending the evening with my husband and dad to watch Star Wars. The rest of the weekend will be sprinkled with festive outings with Vee, including the Christmas Trees in DC. And with that, it’s time for today’s inspiration:

Screen Shot 2015-12-16 at 5.46.06 PM

Customize an Oreo package with Oreo Colorfilled.

I realized I never shared this awesome little dude I picked up from Ikea for Vee. She’s named him “Funny Guy.”

Samurai Jack is coming back!

Love this poster from Jessica Hische.

Mini-screensavers for your browser. This is kinda cool.

Postable kinda reminds me of the “handwritten” card service from Her. Either way, it’s pretty convenient.

My husband and I were talking about the difference i.e. and e.g. I never really knew what the for real difference was until now.

Obsessing over this calendar.

Our additional to technology by Jean Jullien.

Ha! This made me laugh.

A 3D drawing pen?! Mmmmm amazing.

Leave a Reply

